The Final Run

8 Jul
Yesterday morning I ran my final pre-marathon run.  I consulted my soon-to-be training program for my next marathon, and it called for 3 miles at 10:04.  For this race, that’s what I’m hoping to be my race pace, so I took off with the idea in mind that I could run 3 easy miles at sub 10:30.  And that’s just what I did: 

Nice and easy… everything felt great, and I feel ready!

I started packing with the most important items first:

Because let’s face it – I can figure out the rest if I forget something.  So, I made sure my race outfit made the suitcase first.

I don’t really think I’m forgetting anything, though…

Do you? Since Coachy and I are running together, I’m not wearing headphones.

The gauze and Vaseline are for blister prevention.  Flat feet make me more prone to blisters, I guess…

It really works! Better than body glide, plus the gauze provides that extra layer of protection between my sock and my foot.

I have plenty of fuel – I’m just not sure where I’m going to stash it all! My little fuel pouch only holds so much.

I literally packed by mentally going over how I prepare for a run in my head – hat, sunglasses, Garmin, etc… it seemed to work pretty well, I don’t feel like I’m forgetting anything.  I even made sure to pack the SPF 50 – 5 hours in the sun sounds like a mega burn waiting to happen.

Speaking of the sun – the hourly forecast for Sunday morning looks BEE-UUU-TEEE-FULLLL:

56 degrees at the start? YES PLEASE!

Humidity decreasing to comfortable levels as the temperature rises? YES! I’ll take that too!

I have nothing else exciting to report, until after the race! I’m looking forward to a beautiful drive up to Vermont tomorrow.

While I’m gone, I have a recipe to share with you.  It’ll be up tomorrow.  Here’s a hint:

What is it you ask? Well, you’ll have to check back in tomorrow to find out!

Have a great weekend friends!

One Response to “The Final Run”

  1. Victoria Elizabeth July 8, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    GOOD LUCK!!!!!

Leave a Reply

