My Moment of Clarity

7 Jul

Today it just hit me like a ton of bricks – I am STRONGER and I am FASTER than ever before.

I was out running my second to last taper run today, when the realization began.  Take a look:

Coachy’s instructions were as follows: Run 5, warm up and cool down, with the middle 3 at marathon pace minus 30 seconds (which would be a 9:30 pace).  I’ve been noticing in my past few runs that the 9:30 pace is feeling easier and easier to me.  Today was no different, as you can see.  I forced myself to really slow down and use that final mile as an actual cool down.

Then tonight as I was out walking my dog it really all started coming together in my mind. My legs feel awesome. My lungs aren’t giving me any trouble.

I CAN WALK UP AND DOWN THE STAIRS LIKE A NORMAL PERSON!

I haven’t felt this good in a while, and never at this pace for my “easy” runs.

I am still nervous about Sunday, but I feel good great.  I’m ready and I am going to finish that marathon strong and proud.

Tomorrow’s my last run.  The packing has officially begun.  First thing in the suitcase? My Kinvara’s!

Have you ever had a moment of clarity like this? How did you proceed with your training? 


For me, I will be training for my 2nd marathon once I recover.  I’m thinking of pushing the envelope and trying for a serious finishing time on that one.  It’s a flat, fast course, aside from one hill at the very beginning.  Now’s as good a time as any to start kicking some ass.

4 Responses to “My Moment of Clarity”

  1. Fruit Fly July 7, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    You are pretty much AWESOME!! I wish I could maintain that speedy pace. I'm still just a slow old lady! Can't wait for you to run your marathon and kick some ass!

  2. adventuresintrainingforamarathon.com July 8, 2011 at 12:50 am #

    Start kicking ass…you have been kicking ass!
    I'll be thinking of you on Sunday. Have the run of your life!

  3. RunCupcake July 8, 2011 at 1:38 am #

    Thank you ladies! Your support means tons to me!

    @Ff – you're not old! Silly!

    Im chill about it right now…may be the beer and cheez its LOL

  4. Fruit Fly July 8, 2011 at 1:51 am #

    I'm thinking I should start having run before a race. I'm nice and loose right now! 😉

Leave a comment