I Did It Again!

2 Jul

For the 4th month in a row I ran 100+ miles! Now, in case you missed it I had some setbacks in June that made reaching that 100 mile milestone difficult (ha ha …ha) such as a head cold, exhaustion (which actually started Memorial Day weekend), and unplanned taper madness. Two 20-milers this month saved my streak!

I also ran my last hard-ish run until Marathon Sunday! I made a goal – run 3 miles at tempo pace plus 30 seconds, so it’s not too hard so close to race day, and run them with negative splits.  Goal achieved!

  • Mile 1 – 9:27
  • Mile 2 – 9:26
  • Mile 3 – 9:19
Now I’m sitting debating a 5 a.m. wakeup call tomorrow to run my final long-ish run.  Then it’s full on taper.
I have to admit:
I’M FREAKING OUT A LITTLE!
My FIRST marathon is almost here – I never thought I’d ever run a marathon and now it’s just about a week away. I have the week off of work, so taper madness is going to be, well, MAD.
Don’t say I didn’t warn you.
2 Responses to “I Did It Again!”

  1. adventuresintrainingforamarathon.com July 2, 2011 at 2:51 am #

    100+ miles is awesome! I did my most miles this week at 27.4 and it's addicting. I can't wait for my alarm to go off tomorrow morning so I can start on another week of similar miles.

    Omg…your first marathon is almost here…and you took the week before it off and you're tapering…was that a good idea? It's going to be a battle with your head this week…but you can do it! Hopefully you have lots planned to distract you.

  2. RunCupcake July 2, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    Congrats on your longest week yet!

    I do have lots planned luckily – I am a tad crazy, I've also got 4 days of running planned too (including this morning) so hopefully that'll help distract me!

Leave a Reply

