Double Workout Wednesday – A SUCCESS! (Day 44)

30 Jun

I started this morning with a 6 a.m. “hot” yoga session – in my very own living room! I don’t know if it was the humidity or the fact that my yoga practice has been mega slacking lately.  Either way, I was a sweaty mess when I was done. But for the first time in weeks I was able to use stairs like a normal person.  Does anyone else find that mass accumulation of running miles equals hobbling on stairs like an old person with a replacement hip?

I really do love yoga – but not meditation ohm-ing yoga, real hard core muscle testing yoga.  It makes me feel so strong and powerful when I’m in a side plank, holding my body up by nothing but my arm, core strength, and the edge of my foot. That’s why all of the yoga videos I own are named things like “Yoga Sculpt”, “Body Slim”, and “Yoga Meltdown”.  And don’t forget P90X Yoga – but that’s only for when you’re really feeling like kicking your own ass.  I feel like Gumby when I finish that – it’s fantastic.

Then I got to work and realized – I HAVE THREE DAYS LEFT to get a TON of work done since I have next week off.  And all that beautiful yoga feeling left me..

Seeing that it was a beautiful day, I took off at lunch to cheer myself up.

Strawberry Lemonade Coolatta (Running fuel?)
Windows down – music UP.
Results – Happy me! 

Then I had to go back to work… damn.

Workout #2 consisted of “Doggy Intervals.”  I really want to start taking Lexi on my recovery runs, to get her more exercise, and to spend more time with her. She was an unhappy camper today from what my neighbors tell me, so I took that as a sign that she needed to get out for a while.

She’s a pretty damn good runner – must be the 4 leg thing.  She made it 2.63 of the 3.01 miles – I could tell she was getting tired, so back home for her, and I went out to finish up 3 miles.  I am just going to eek over the 100 mile mark for this month.  I’ll take it! Fourth 100+ mile month in a row.  I was afraid I wouldn’t make it this month due to less than 10 miles in the first 11 days.  Luckily a couple 20 milers helped me make that up quick quick.

Running is hard work!

In other news – by the time I leave for work tomorrow I’ll officially be under 10 days til the Mad Marathon starting gun.  I’m starting to get scared! And I changed up my whole outfit that I chose too… haha, such a girl… Decided my running skirt is a much better idea, 26 miles of thigh chafe sounds painful.

Is it normal to have pre-race jitters 10 days before the race? Somebody calm me down!

Leave a Reply

