Slow Ride…Take It Easy (Day 43…yes, I skipped Day 42)

29 Jun

Fasten your seatbelts boys and girls – it’s gonna be a random one!

Today’s Run

What happens when you properly execute 20 hilly miles, then try to run again less than 48-hours later? Let me put it to you this way… it brings a whole new meaning to recovery run.
I haven’t run this slow since…well, since I was doing Couch to 5k.
I literally asked myself “Why am I even bothering? I might as well be walking.” But I slogged along nonetheless.  I hope this recovery did it’s trick.  Tomorrow is my last chance for a hard, fast run – because TOMORROW marks the beginning of the 10 DAY COUNTDOWN TO MARATHON SUNDAY!

I am beginning to freak out…a little…even with the reassurance of everyone that “You’ve got this”, “Two great 20s under your belt”… that’s all well and good, but doesn’t the race start AFTER mile 20? Yeah, I’m still ever so grateful that miles 16-26 are all downhill.  I love running downhill – sometimes when I run downhill really fast, I like to yell “weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee” for the fun of it. People stare. It’s ridiculously amusing to me. However, I do know I won’t be running these miles wicked fast – but I may just yell “weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee” anyway, it’ll definitely make it more fun if I’m in agony.  Smile, act crazy, and try to pretend you’re not in pain and half dead, right? I better stock up on more Gu Roctane to help with my energy.

A Decision Has Been Made

I am not going to turn this into a food blog.  I will continue to talk about anything and everything I bake – because it’s a passion of mine, right next to running.  I’ll also continue to review new foods that I try, and share interesting concoctions and inventions, or just pretty food when I make it, because I am always proud of myself when I make pretty food.  But you won’t see daily logs of what I consumed – mostly because I am very boring in the food department.  I eat cereal and bagels for breakfast, aside from the occasional eggs I may cook on the weekends.  Lunch is usually either a salad, or leftovers, or if I’m really lazy something from some sandwich shop or something.  I owe a lot of my creativity lately to food blogs I read regularly. That being said, I do have some food to share with you today. 
Yesterday I was in a fog when I packed my lunch – still exhausted from 20 on Sunday I suppose (and a couple extra beers at dinner…).  I had packed up a bunch of veggies to dip in sour cream, one of my fave hot summer day treats.  I forgot the sour cream…I am truly a space cadet. Being good at thinking on my feet (I cracked myself up with this one – don’t ask why – perhaps because I’m good at improvising runs when they don’t go as planned. You know, no pun intended and all? Am I the only one laughing?) I immediately chopped my veggies up, threw in the last of a bag of almond/cranberry salad topper stuff I had, and drowned it in salad dressing (Confession: I am always heavy handed in the salad dressing department – I just can’t eat dry salad).  It looked pretty, and was tasty. 
I also tried a new “candy bar” today.  It says it’s a candy bar on the wrapper, but I’m going with cookie bar. 
Please look at the food and pay no mind to the fact that I desperately need a manicure.
De. lish. Seriously.  I didn’t even chew – I just inhaled. It’s that good.  And relatively healthy to boot.  The stats: 
The even better part? I ate this mid-afternoon, probably 3-ish…it held me to dinner! 
The second even better part? They also come in PEANUT BUTTER FLAVOR! OMG! If you like chocolatey, wafery, cookie like snacks – these are for you! 
Tomorrow – Something New

I am going to attempt two workouts tomorrow.  I say attempt because every single time I say I’m going to get out of bed early and do core work, or yoga, or something, then run in the afternoon, I don’t do it.  My morning run is being foiled by rain showers (and 93% humidity – gack!), so I plan to run tomorrow evening instead.  I was going to wuss out and go to the gym – but the forecast has since changed.  77 and 64% humidity – a walk in the park for my southern friends.  I’ll do it, but I’m still going somewhere with lots of trees! 
The plan:
  • Exercise TV Yoga Sculpt @ 5:45 a.m. – this workout is fantastic.  She really gets into your legs.  I need that.  And it’s a quality workout for only 1/2 hour.  I get an extra 1/2 hour of sleep.  Win, win? Yes, I think so.
  • 6 p.m. – Hit one of the bike paths on the way home for a 3-mile tempo run, 5 miles total including warm up/cool down mile.
Wish me luck!
Randomosity

How do you entertain a 5-month old puppy for hours? $2.99 rawhide braid from Walgreens.  She won’t stop with it – perfect for my peace (and hopefully my furniture…). 

Thanks Mom! Perfect for my puppy teeth!
That’s all folks – hope you enjoyed super random Tuesday.
Question for today:  Do you ever workout twice in one day?  How do you motivate yourself to do both? For me, I’m more motivated to get my run in, and sleep tomorrow morning, but I know I need both. 

Leave a Reply

