Stress Eating, Almost Burnt Pizza and More Randomness (Day 39)

25 Jun

Friday is my rest day. That brings TGIF to a WHOLE different level.

Where do I even begin…today was crazy, stressful, and random, all rolled into one.

It started out decent – had a good conversation with Coachy about my second 20-miler scheduled for Sunday.  After talking about it out loud, it made me realize that doing the hillier half first made more sense (I did it the complete opposite last time – and it was painful). We also talked about my future training – Marathon #2 is only 68 days after Marathon #1. I need to recover (obviously) but I also want to hard core train for Marathon #2 (Air Force Marathon in Dayton, OH) – turns out he has so much confidence in me he thinks I should start researching 4-hour marathon plans (say WHAT?). Anyone have any they’d like to recommend? I’m feeling pretty bad ass, so I’m up for the challenge.  Should make for some interesting blog posts in the near future.

It was ALL downhill from there. Friday’s are pretty crazy at work anyway, but today totally takes the cake.  I work for a construction company, and usually on Friday all of the Project Managers and everyone else are in the office, driving me crazy.  I was SO STRESSED today – I took it out on my diet…I use that term loosely, as in I’m not on a diet but more my diet, as in what I eat every day.

It all started this morning when I dropped half of one of my precious honey wheat bagels on the work kitchen floor. Ewww…glad I had another half. It made for quite the Facebook discussion too – I don’t even eat off of my own floor, nevermind my work floor.  That’s what I have a dog for.

I didn’t pack a lunch today, and by the time lunch actually rolled around I was stressed to the MAX.

First I went to Subway:

Turkey, bacon, avocado sub, loaded with veggies to make me feel a little less guilty.
Veggies? Carbs? Both?
I ATE PACMAN! AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!
Then I went to Dunkin’ Donuts for a Mocha Iced Coffee and some unpictured (and almost unchewed) munchkins.  Yeah, total stress eating.
I didn’t eat again until dinner… which I made sure was healthy. I don’t feel guilty for what I ate today – it could’ve been much worse (Big Mac anyone?). Plus I rationalized it by telling myself I’m running 20 miles on Sunday – I’ll burn plenty of calories to make up for it!
For dinner I made pizza, compliments of Liz over at Blog is the New Black.  You can get the recipe for her Spinoccoli Pizza here.
The only difference in my version is I used feta instead of Parmesan cheese.  And I left it in the oven while I was on the phone with my mom and the cheese almost burned…
Almost burnt pizza cheese is still tasty.
It was still good, and I paired it with a simple, but delicious spinach salad.
And of course, since it’s Friday:
Chocolate malty/porter-ish type homebrew from a friend.  DELICIOUS!
I think I’ll spend the rest of the night catching up on some shows taking up space in my Tivo, like Pretty Little Liars.  I call it my guilty pleasure show, it’s SO for teenagers, and yeah I’m almost 30, but who cares, I still like it.
Do you stress eat? How do you deal with eating when you’re stressed?

Do you have a guilty pleasure show? It’s kinda fun, I’ll admit.
3 Responses to “Stress Eating, Almost Burnt Pizza and More Randomness (Day 39)”

  1. VERONICA June 25, 2011 at 2:42 am #

    I watch Hoarders to motivate me to do housework. There, I said it.

  2. RunCupcake June 25, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    Hmm, that's a damn good idea!

  3. Fruit Fly July 12, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

    Guilt pleasure show … I can't help it, I love the Real Housewives of NYC and New Jersey!

Leave a Reply

