Just Call Me Speedy (Day 37)

23 Jun

I forgot to set my alarm last night and woke up at 5:40.  MEGA OOPS. I was not about to miss another speed workout so close to Marathon Sunday. So I sucked it up and went to the gym.  The run was great! (I’ll never say the gym was great – I really do hate the gym). Here’s what I did:

I had to modify on the fly – it was actually supposed to be 1/4 miles @ 7:30 and 1/2 miles @ 8:00 BUUUUUT my lungs aren’t quite there yet. 10:43 overall pace – not bad considering I walked 22.5 minutes of a 60 minute workout!


Each time I have a great workout between now and Marathon Sunday the better I feel about the whole thing. I mean, I feel ready, I feel like I can do it – these remaining workouts are just helping me remain positive.  26.2 miles is a hella long way to run!


Then I treated myself to dinner at Taco Bell. Don’t judge – I ordered off the Fresco menu. And out of curiosity I looked up the nutrition stats – I consumed a total of 575 calories and 18.5 grams of fat.  Not bad for fast food – especially compared to the Big Mac I was considering (yes, I was REALLY considering a Big Mac.  Would I like fries with that? Absofreakinlutely! If I felt like consuming 840 calories and 43 grams of fat – that’s for the Big Mac and a medium fry, wow, glad I passed on THAT).  So, see Taco Bell doesn’t sound so bad now does it?! (I may or may not be trying to convince myself that it was a good idea – you see I have a nice defrosted chicken breast in my fridge, but I didn’t feel like grilling in the rain. And it’s too hot to turn the oven on – I’m just full of excuses tonight.)


And I did eat really well all day see:

Breakfast:

I love Quaker Oatmeal Squares – if you haven’t tried them, DO IT!

For lunch, I was so indecisive, I went with simple and tasty:

Grown up PBJ – Whole wheat bread and blackberry jam

 

Snyder’s Honey Wheat Pretzels – again I say, if you haven’t tried these DO IT. I’m hooked.

I munched on more cherries for morning snack and another apple/peanut butter combo. Is it possible that anyone else eats as much peanut butter as I do? I eat it EVERY.SINGLE.DAY. without fail. Sometimes more than once…I think I may be an addict.

I also tried another one of the FRS Drinks from my freebie pack I received a while ago. This one was Citrus Pomegranate Flavor

First reaction – IT LOOKS LIKE PEE! (Honestly – I really said those exact words…see for yourself).
Gross, right? 
Second reaction – it smells just as gross as the first one.  I was tempted to not even try. But I did anyway. It actually tasted good – but the smell was permeating my nose every time I tried to sip it. So I drank half and dumped the rest down the drain.  Sorry again FRS – still no go for me. 

I’ve been thinking, and I notice that MANY bloggers end their posts with a question. That sounds kinda fun… I may try it.

Question is… am I creative enough to come up with a new question every time I post?

I’ll have to think on that one some more.

One Response to “Just Call Me Speedy (Day 37)”

  1. p_salisbury June 24, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

    It looks like horse pee 🙂

Leave a Reply

