And then I realized…(Day 36)

22 Jun

Before I start…I’m feeling a little LOT star struck right now.  Emz from RunEmz.com is following ME.  This is the woman who ran, for 24 hours, on a treadmill… FOR CHARITY, and then wrote about it in her blog in the most amazing, tear jerking, goosebump forming way (not to mention everything else – her training, the way she talks about her family, I could go on and on…). In her words: I ABSOLUTELY FREAKIN LOVE THIS! Her blog is one I read EVERY day.  She’s funny and inspiring – and I HIGHLY recommend you check her blog out if you don’t read it already.  You will not be disappointed.

Okay, now on with my regularly scheduled business:

5:15 A.M. IS EARLY! 

But if prepared, you can hit the road running by 5:32 a.m. And that is exactly what I did today.  I am so glad I did – it was 60 when I left the house this morning.  It was 79 when I got home.  I knew I loved early morning running for a reason!!!!

Before I get into that – I have a clarification to make.  I was asked “What do the numbers in your blog titles mean?” Well, I guess I never explained that huh? (I apologize in advance – I’m all over the place tonight…)

Back on May 17th I put it out there for the world (or my few friends and followers) to see – “This week is the week I decided I need to give every workout my all.” That was 54 days until Marathon Sunday.  I deemed that Day 1 of my Super Ass-Kicking First Marathon Plan.  So, I’ve been counting up to Marathon Sunday.  


Seems a bit backwards doesn’t it? Counting backwards is backwards too…so…I don’t really know where I”m going with this.  Today is Day 36 of 54.  Day 55 is Marathon Sunday.  


Maybe I’ll count backwards for my next marathon (68 Days from #1). Maybe.


Crazy randomness over…on with my regularly scheduled business (again…)

Today I did get out of bed at 5:15 a.m. (and I didn’t even moan or groan, I had actually been awake since 4:57). I was on the road by 5:32 a.m.  I didn’t have a plan for what I was going to do, other than 5 miles – it should’ve been recovery pace because I should have ran 20 on Sunday. I just went with how I was feeling, but I didn’t push too hard because I have speed intervals scheduled for tomorrow.  I am OVERWHELMINGLY happy with what I ended up with.

Wicked. awesome. That is all.

I am regaining my lungs.  Finally.  A couple of times during this run I had to focus on my breathing, I realized I was allowing my breaths to get too shallow.  I took some deep breaths and regained my composure.  This was my first non-stop run in a few weeks, I didn’t even have to stop to stretch.  With only 18 days to Marathon Sunday – this is FANTASTIC!!!!!

I also managed to maintain healthy eating ALL DAY TODAY!  Breakfast and lunch were a repeat of yesterday (kinda boring, I know), but I also included extra carbs in today’s lunch:

Pasta salad – made by me. Isn’t it pretty? 

I really do love salad (lettuce salad, not pasta salad – I just love anything that includes pasta), but, I don’t understand how people can eat salad for lunch day in and day out.  Two days in a row, and I’m burnt out on it.

Mid-morning snack was different too – only because the remains of my Chobani were moldy (ewww – again I say, thank goodness for emergency snacks).  I had this baby with peanut butter instead.

An apple a day keeps the doctor away

I love apples, I could eat an apple a day.  That should make my doctor happy.

This afternoon I chowed down on this:

I love Laughing Cow. It’s got to be THE MOST delicious spreadable cheese.  And with only 35 calories and 1.5 grams of fat in that wedge – you can eat one every day AND NOT FEEL GUILTY!

Then there are these:

Oh my delicious.  I highly recommend trying them if you haven’t already. With Laughing Cow Swiss (if you’re into that sorta thing).

(All this food talk is making me hungry…)

It was hot in my house, and after getting up at 5:15 for the first time in what seems like forever, I was tired and didn’t feel like cooking.  So I went with Father’s Day BBQ leftovers:

Turkey burger, more pasta salad, and Grandmas potato salad
Two workouts in a row and two healthy eating days in a row.  I feel better already. Now, I’m going to allow myself to indulge a little with a piece of my mom’s homemade strawberry rhubarb pie.
Then I’m going to bed, 5:15 again tomorrow – speed intervals this time! 
One Response to “And then I realized…(Day 36)”

  1. Fruit Fly July 12, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    You crack me up. I remember when I looked and suddenly had a new follower. Then I saw who it was (EMZ) and I was a huge giddy mess! I mean she's pretty much freaking famous!

Leave a Reply

