Back on the Wagon (Day 35)

21 Jun

Today was all about a new beginning.  Ever since I got sick a couple weeks ago  (I’m convinced it was a cold, not allergies, I never actually saw a doctor though) I have had a ridiculously hard time getting back into my workouts, and my healthy eating habits. I decided yesterday – enough with the excuses.

Today I threw myself right back into my old (healthy) ways – and I announced to all my Facebook friends – and I’m telling all of my readers.

I started my morning with a Carnation instant breakfast, blended with skim milk, ice and a banana.  I can’t eat right when I get out of bed, but I can’t wait until I get to work either, this works perfect.

Perfect early summer morning drink!

Then I finished my breakfast once I got to work (complete with iced coffee, of course, I can’t drink hot coffee in the summer).

Whole wheat toast, pb, and honey with a perfect banana! And see that Red Sox in the background? Yup, iced coffee 🙂

Mid-morning snack:

Plain fat-free Chobani with almond/cranberry blend and honey –  delicious, with the perfect amount of crunch.

(Yes, I eat every couple of hours, it’s the only way to go)

Lunch:

Leftover salad from Father’s Day BBQ with chickpeas, and an Arnold Whole Wheat sandwich thin (I’m hooked on those)

Have you ever gotten to the point where you’ve eaten so much junk food that a big, fresh salad is one of the most refreshing things you’ve had in days? I was at that point today.

I also munched on some of these beauties throughout the afternoon:

I realized around 4:30 that I was hungry again (for those that know me, I’m sure this comes as no surprise). That is why I keep emergency snacks around!

I had to carefully dish out the serving size on these pretzels, otherwise I’d inhale the whole bag!

I had plans to do yoga tonight, but my mom needed help moving hay that had been baled today.  So, I did that instead.  We threw/moved/stacked +/- 100 bales of hay.  It took an hour but it was great cross training.

After that was done, my beautiful day of healthy eating came almost to an end.  The ‘rents ordered pizza, and all that hay moving made me hungry.  I tried to only eat two pieces, but I was still hungry – so I went back in for a third.  I did make the healthier choice of the two – it was either chicken (as in chicken parm style chicken) or Hawaiian.  So, I went with Hawaiian (at least nothing on top of it was fried…I think).

I’m certainly not going to let a couple slices of pizza derail me.  But I am hungry again…uh oh.  I think I’ll make myself half of a pbj on whole wheat I changed my mind while I was writing, I decided on a piece of whole grain toast with pumpkin butter (I love all things pumpkin!).  It’s healthy, and it will fuel me through my morning run.

Oh yeah, about that morning run… I finally decided today to switch my workouts back to mornings.  I’ve been hemming and hawing about it for a couple of weeks. Then I looked at the forecast for tomorrow – 61 at 5 a.m., 79 at 6 p.m. – no brainer, right? 61 is WAY better to run in.  Plus, come fall, I have to do it anyway because I’ll be back in school.  Might as well get used to it now.

Today also brought this news:

Coachy says it’s okay for me to run that “better than the last time” 20-miler this weekend.  Apparently my impressive recovery from my last 20-miler proved to him that 2 weeks before the race is still plenty of time to run and recover.  Oh boy.  Thanks Coachy. (wink wink)

Now I have to get used a to an earlier bed time, so I can drag myself get my 5-miles done in the morning. Goodnight friends! 
2 Responses to “Back on the Wagon (Day 35)”

  1. Fruit Fly June 21, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

    Oh man, I wish I could bring myself to eat all healthy like you!

    The hay baling sounds like hard work. I bet your arms got quite the work out!

  2. p_salisbury June 24, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    Stacking hay is more of a whole body workout once you have the technique down! 🙂 Sam did a great job for her first time stacking!

Leave a Reply

