Fun with Four Miles & Fabulous Fridge Finds (Day 29)

15 Jun

I just wanted to see how many F-words I could put in the title of tonight’s blog. Teeheehee.

I’m feeling good after my 20 so I went out for a recovery run tonight. The legs didn’t want to hear it at first, but it didn’t take me to long to convince them otherwise.  I ended up running 4 miles in 43 minutes, a 10:44 overall pace. Perfect for recovery.  I’m happy to be back, see:

Happy, and sweaty, and it was only 60 degrees out? Really?

A little stretching, and a couple hours later, my legs still feel really good.  I hope they stay that way – I’d REALLY like to get a speed day in tomorrow. I really only have this week and next to put in good speed days, the big day IS GETTING SO CLOSE!

This four miler was particularly fun, because I had a super fun playlist. I’ve been feeling burnt out musically lately, so I scoured my iTunes and this is what I came up with:

Fun, right? I love the old school hip hop stuff. I know some of this isn’t really “old” old school, but it all fit together perfectly.  I threw the iPod on shuffle and away I went! This mix definitely made the run go by fast and it was so much fun! It’s good to be back in action!
Now, onto my fabulous fridge finds. I decided to present myself with a challenge this week after reading the idea on another blog.  I rummaged through my fridge, freezer, and cabinets, and realized one thing:
There is enough food in this house to feed a family of four for a week!

And that is not even an exaggeration. So, what is the challenge? The challenge is to skip, for one week, my weekly grocery shopping trip.  So far so good. Just look at what I’ve come up with:
Grilled chicken salad for me and Rita on Friday night!

Delicious veggie/chicken pasta dish – which I am still eating the leftovers!
Chicken fajitas! With enough leftovers for Wednesday lunch.
So far so good! These are all dinners, yes, but I’ve also had no problem coming up with enough breakfast, lunch, and snacks to get me through.  And from the looks of my fridge/freezer/cabinets – I should have no problem making it to Saturday morning! The only thing I’ve had to buy was bananas.
I should try this more often – maybe like once a month.  The money I saved was well spent on a trip to Target (a responsible adult trip to Target mind you – for household goodies like toilet paper and laundry soap – okay you got me, I also bought a watch and a bottle of nailpolish).
I certainly enjoy a good challenge. Speaking of, it’s time for me to rest so I can challenge myself to speed intervals tomorrow. 
Goodnight! 
Leave a Reply

