Adapt! Improvise! Overcome! (Day 23 & 24)

10 Jun

Not necessarily in that order!

It was about a hundred billion degrees out yesterday (or at least it felt that way – it was actually 87).  An air quality alert was issued, and as I mentioned on Monday, I have been fighting this horrible allergy thing for a few days. I decided not to risk running outside when a warning for people with compromised breathing is issued!  So I went to the gym with my mom and my brother.

I hopped on the treadmill with the intention of doing a 3/4 mile warmup, followed by six 1/4 mile fast and 1/2 mile recovery intervals.  Weeeeellllllllllllllll that didn’t happen. Apparently even inside an air-conditioned gym, lungs that have been suffering for days don’t want to play.  I got through the first fast interval, recovered, and then started the second fast interval.  I had to drop the speed a tad to finish that interval, but then even at recovery speed I couldn’t recover.  My lungs felt like they were ON FIRE!!!! Not good.

I am not one to give up, so I switched the treadmill program to hills, cranked the level to 10, dropped the speed to a 12mm, and went at it.  PHEW! 45 minutes and 4.2 miles later – I accomplished some serious hill training for what I have now dubbed the “Wicked Marathon“.

Then I got dinner from mommy, thanks Mommy! Nothing like a fresh, crisp grilled chicken salad on a hot summer day.

Delicious! Fresh baked italian bread too!

Tonight… well, I didn’t do anything. I was going to go to the gym again since it was storming out, but I had a bunch of stuff around the house to accomplish so I decided against it. I have run 9.99 miles so far this month – I should be close to or over 50 by now.  I’m kind bummed, kinda peeved, kinda just meh about it all.

There are 4 full weeks left including the week of the “Wicked Marathon.”  I’m going to try my best to make sure I get 6 days worth of exercise in every single one of those weeks between now and July 10 – here’s to hoping my legs, lungs, and Mother Nature cooperate.

Next up: a 5k with friends Saturday, and 20 miles on Sunday!

Leave a Reply

