What a Week

6 Jun

I can’t run. I can’t workout. I can hardly do anything without coughing and/or getting worn out.  I thought it was just high pollen count/allergies – I hope that is still the case, but I’m not sure.  Update since I started this post – yup, pretty sure it’s just allergies, doc says take new meds and hopefully that will do the trick.

I worked out once last week – it was a good, albeit hard, run, but still ONCE? 3.29 miles, 31:31, 9:35/mm average pace.  That’s the fastest I’ve run since April 22 – mostly on purpose since I’m trying to concentrate on distance endurance for the marathon.

So, since I can’t write about running, I might as well write about food, right? Once upon a time I had a recipe for these Mexican Chicken Sandwiches – I was craving them on Friday but I couldn’t find it so I improvised, talk about delicious!
I just sprinkled my raw chicken with some season salt, cumin, a TINY bit of cayenne pepper, and cilantro and grilled it.  Then I topped it with some Mexican shredded cheese and salsa.  On my bread – no, that is not mayo! It’s sour cream! That was an experiment, I’ve never used sour cream as a “spread” before.  I really liked it, I’ll do that again! 

Saturday morning as I was cleaning out my fridge I realized I had some baby carrots that were starting to look rather, uh, ugly…

What do you do with ugly carrots? You BAKE!  After some research I came across an easily modifiable (is that an actual word?) carrot cupcake recipe! Ugly carrots sure do make yummy cupcakes! 
These came out so good! I modified this recipe to kind of “healthify” it.  I was going to sub in applesauce for the oil too, but I didn’t have any.  I hemmed and hawed between vegetable oil and butter – turns out the veg oil is the healthier option.  Here’s my version:
Carrot Cupcakes with Orange Cream Cheese Frosting
  • 1/2 cup granulated white sugar
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar (packed)
  • 2/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups grated carrots
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts of your choice (I used pecans)
Preheat oven to 350F.
Beat the sugars, oil, and vanilla together.  Add the egg and egg whites, mix until combined.  In another bowl, sift together the flour, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt. With mixer on low, add 1/2 of the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients. Add the carrots, raisins, and nuts to the remaining dry ingredients, mix thoroughly. Add to the batter and mix until combined. 
Line a cupcake pan with 12 cups and fill approximately 3/4 full.  Bake at 350F for 35 minutes. 
For the frosting I used this recipe – only modification is I didn’t put any nuts in the frosting.
Keep your fingers crossed I feel good enough for at least an easy 3 mile run tomorrow.  I’m going to try to get back into the swing of things now that I know this isn’t some sort of cold/flu/infection…


One Response to “What a Week”

  1. RunBikeSurf June 7, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    CUPCAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAKES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

