What a Weekend! (This post contains cupcakes…AND Cookies)

31 May

Wow what a weekend!  It all started with an impromptu bbq/dog meeting at my house Friday night.  It was so beautiful out on Friday, all I could think of was bbq/cold beer/sitting out on my patio.  I invited my parents and brother over, so Lexi could meet Zach (their dog).  It went well – they didn’t become best friends or anything – but it’s a start.

As you can see Zach is quite a bit larger than Lexi! Hopefully they become friends so when I’m away for races or just extremely busy, she can go play with Zach. 
Saturday was a great day as I successfully completed my first 18 miler – you can read all about that here.
Sunday I ran a 5k for the Barrington Fire Department that my cousin works for.  I ran most of it with my mom, because I wasn’t sure how my legs were going to feel after 18 miles.  Turns out that even after 18 miles, an 11-12mm pace is still WAY TOO SLOW (Sorry Mommy!). My legs HURT moving at that pace, so I took the last quarter mile quicker than I probably should have, but it felt GOOD.  All in all it was a fun race, not too crowded, a beautiful day, and just lots of fun in general.
Had a great time at my Aunt’s memorial day bbq last night.  Probably drank more than I should have because I was useless until about noon today.  I had no drive – I was SO TIRED!
But, when I did get up today I managed to make a special treat to bring to dinner at my mom’s house. 

The stars of the show!
This recipe was incredibly simple – and the cupcakes came out delicious!  Don’t they look beautiful? 
Then I frosted them with this delicious Peanut Butter Frosting. OMG to die for! 
Okay so remember earlier in the week I said I had been baking? But I wouldn’t tell you what I was up to.  That’s because I was making a special treat for a friend. Now, I can share.
These are THE BEST chocolate chip cookies.  The best part is they’re “semi” healthy because they don’t have any white sugar in them. 
I always double the recipe because it just doesn’t make enough! A tip for making these – the batter is thick, I mix it with my hands.  It’s the only way to get it mixed REALLY well. 
Then I use this awesome gadget to make perfect little cookies.
I have no idea where I got this recipe, but I’ve had it FOREVER, and I’ll share it with you!
“Healthy-fied” Chocolate Chip Cookies
  • 1-2/3 cup flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips (you could also use baking chocolate chopped up into chunks)
Preheat oven to 350.

Combine flour, baking soda, and salt.

In a separate bowl, beat butter until fluffy.  Add brown sugar and beat until blended.  Add egg and vanilla, beat until blended.  Gradually add flour mixture until combined. 

Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto baking sheets coated with cooking spray.  Bake for 8-10 minutes, or until lightly browned.

If you decide to make these, enjoy!
I hope everyone had a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

