Mixing It Up (Day 8)

24 May

Yesterday’s botched 18 miler left my right ankle hurtin for certain. I’m supposed to do Jillian Michael’s 6-week 6-pack on Mondays (Mini Goal #1).  Due to her psycho-ass-kicking-trainer attitude there’s lots of jumping around in that video. 


And this doesn’t feel too good either:

FREAKIN OUCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I decided to forgo it for Exercise TVs “The Hollywood Trainer: Ab Blaster”.  Yet another no nonsense ab workout.  I think my abs are STILL burning from this one.  WOW! 


Have you ever tried to do floor workouts with a puppy in the room? Lexi thought I was playing – she was licking my feet, chewing on my ponytail, it was hilarious.   Until she tried to eat my yoga mat… 


Well that only took 20 minutes so I went back to Exercise TV for some more (I am supposed to be working out for an hour!). I went to “Dynamic Sculpt and Stretch” for upper body. It’s only 10 minutes long, but you can feel it! 


Okay so now I still have a half hour to go. What to do? What to do? Okay 50 calf raises, with 10 added pounds, and 30 squats with 10 added pounds.  Well, that didn’t take much time…now what?


Oh, I know, how about some yoga.  Nothing too crazy – I’m more in the mood for some really nice stretching. Active.com posted this on their Facebook page not too long ago, I’ve done all of these poses one right after the other a couple of times now – let me tell you, THEY WORK.  6 Yoga Poses to Improve Your Running.  I did those and then these stretches from Coolrunning.com.


I fully expected to feel like HELL after yesterday. My last 15 miler left me limping and unable to use stairs without holding on like someone’s 99 year old grandma. Today, the legs felt good. After the workout – they felt great. Can’t wait to hit the streets for a recovery run tomorrow!

I did some baking tonight too…more on that later. (Yes I am seriously going to leave you like that).


Question: Have you ever felt amazingly good after what seemed like the world’s most brutal workout? 


Oh yeah, one other thing – 1.5# lost in a week.  That’s some good motivation to keep this up! 

3 Responses to “Mixing It Up (Day 8)”

  1. RunBikeSurf May 24, 2011 at 3:20 am #

    Did somebody say baking? 😛

  2. Fruit Fly May 27, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    I feel like a total slacker now!

    My pets love to help me exercise if I am ever laying on the floor. Nothing like being sweaty and then having a hairy animal throw themselves on you – leaving behind a bunch of fur!

  3. RunCupcake May 28, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    You're not a slacker! I think she got the hint pretty quickly that I didn't need help exercising!

Leave a Reply

