Glad I didn’t…(Day 3)

19 May

…let Mother Nature win. Today is the 5th straight day in a row without any freakin sunshine. 

5. SUNSHINELESS. DAYS.

Ugh… that is enough to make anyone grumpy. To say I was in a foul mood today is an understatement, and that put a RIDICULOUS damper on my motivation. All I wanted to do was go home, stuff my face, and curl up on the couch with my snuggie. Yes, I have a snuggie, and YES I LOVE MY SNUGGIE. I fall asleep every time I put it on, it’s THAT cozy. 

I hemmed and hawed ALL AFTERNOON about going to the gym.  I don’t like the gym in the first place – a giant building full of sweaty people, yuck. Not to mention the treadmill is B.O.R.I.N.G. With a capital GIANT B. 

So, what did I do you ask? I thought to myself “Hey dumbass, you put yourself out there on this blog, and on Facebook, for everyone to see.  You announced your intentions to everyone who reads this (I have 8 followers…I know of at least 3 that actually read). You announced it to everyone you are friends with on Facebook (maybe about 6 people read that…Okay, okay, maybe 10, and that’s being generous LOL). YOU CAN’T SLACK!” Not to mention after running 26 miles I’m going to be in pain, all this working out is an attempt to minimalize that (is that even possible?), and get through my first marathon HAPPY (And without poor Coachy killing me – I don’t think he realizes how unwise it was to volunteer to run 26 miles with me…he may regret it later…I’m thinking I’ll owe him a few beers). 


So I WENT TO THE GYM.  I had to make it that big, that’s how awful I felt about it earlier. Now, I feel freakin awesome! 


Wednesday is supposed to be my mid-week endurance run – but 8 miles on the treadmill sounds dreadful. 


So tonight’s workout was FABULOUS.

  • 45 Minutes on the Elliptical – A mile forward, a mile backward, etc… cranked up on Level 10 and SPEEDY.
  • THEN…
  • A super easy 3.5 miles on the treadmill (My calf is still a tad cranky from wearing my soon to be retired Kinvara’s last night). 

I’m glad I did it. Between last night’s workout and tonight’s my legs need a break.  Tomorrow I plan on trying out a new yoga DVD. 

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to get in my snuggie and finish watching American Idol. GO HALEY GO! (Since my fave James was voted off – I have a new fave).
One Response to “Glad I didn’t…(Day 3)”

  1. donnamacd May 19, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    We got an elliptical so I DON'T have to go to the gym. I got up to 18 minutes at turtle pace and thought I was hot stuff. Look at what YOU did on it – you go, girl!!

Leave a Reply

