Happy Race-iversary! (A little bit o’ history)

2 May

Today is my one-year race-iversary! Woohoo! I suppose now would be a good time to fill those in that aren’t in the know (oh love how I speak, err type, in riddles).


In April 2010 I kept hearing commercials on the radio for the Cox Providence Rhode Races.  At that point I was doing everything (I thought) in my power to control my weight but no matter what I did I was either always hungry or gaining weight.  I signed up for the 5k figuring, what the hell, I can walk/jog/run, whatever I have to do to finish it, it’s only 3.1 miles after all. I finished in 42:19.  My goal was to finish in under 45 minutes – HOORAY for reaching goals (by a lot!). I had fun! Best of all there was free beer at the finish line! So, being the responsible person that I am (hah!), I made an appointment with my doctor to see if running was for me (I have hip/knee problems – nothing serious, but enough for me to consult my doctor before putting a pounding on my body by running). He said sure, just ease into it, and introduced me to the Couch to 5k Running Plan. Oh yeah, lets not forget the exercise induced asthma (I weaned myself off of my inhaler in October 2010 – haven’t used it since!)


Fast forward to July 28, 2010 – I graduated Couch to 5k! Woohoo! I should officially be able to run a full 3.1 miles.  Which I did – I signed up for 4 more 5k’s and a 5 mile race to complete my 2010 “running season.” Each time I raced, I improved.  I finished 2010 with a 5k personal record of 27:37! Woohoo, I’m getting fast too!


Meanwhile I have made some crazy friends on Active.com.  We decided a group race would be a great opportunity to meet the people behind the computers.  We chose the Charleston Marathon in Charleston, SC.  Most of us are from northern climates, so a little southern warmth in January was welcome! I was going to run the 10k, but was “gently convinced” that I could run the half. I wasn’t planning on my first half until today (hence the GIANT back story before I even get to the race… perhaps I’ll write about the race in another entry…don’t want to bore you guys to tears or anything). Never one to back down from a challenge, I agreed to run the half.


I trained for like 6 or 8 weeks, I don’t even remember now.  I felt good and I felt ready.  Wasn’t even nervous about it….Until I got to the start line and realized I was about to run 13.1 miles (most I had run in training was 11 – more than most half marathon plans even have you run, only by a mile, but it helped my confidence).  I have great crazy friends, and one of them agreed to pace me. At first I was hoping for 2:10 but quickly decided 2:15 or better was more reasonable.

HOORAY for a 2:12:42 in my first half marathon.  I think I’m happy about this? 


I’m officially hooked on running.  I can’t remember if it was before or after Charleston that I decided that since I’m turning 30 this year I want to run a full marathon before my 30th birthday. I entered the lottery for the New York City Marathon but unfortunately didn’t get in.  I think I’ll go anyway, it’s only a 2 1/2 hour drive, and I do know one person that was lucky enough to get in on his first try. 


I am officially registered for my first marathon – it takes place on July 10, 2011 – the Mad Marathon in Waitsfield Vermont.  69 days left to be ready! OMG! That’s only a little over 2 months away!


After my race today (more on that later) I feel confident about my running abilities and how I’ll perform on future races.  


Right now for the marathon my goal is to finish – I cannot wait for the day I can say “I ran a marathon.”


And about that weight control – the true reason I started myself on this wildly fun and crazy adventure in the first place – running mixed with cross training and (mostly) healthy eating – I haven’t been this happy with my weight, shape, or physical abilities EVER.  It’s great to feel great about turning 30!

2 Responses to “Happy Race-iversary! (A little bit o’ history)”

  1. Running Bird May 2, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    Happy race-iversary! What's this nonsense about “Southern warmth?” Charleston was freezing!

  2. RunCupcake May 2, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    You thin blooded Floridian! It was beautiful!

Leave a Reply

